All subjects

China’s 28 northern cities take concerted action on air pollution

Over two dozen major cities in North China have drawn up a detailed action plan in a bid to curb winter smog.

According to a statement from the State Council of PRC, ministries and the governments of Beijing, Tianjin, and 26 smaller cities in the provinces of Hebei, Shanxi, Shandong and Henan in northern China have drafted a joint action plan in a bid to curb air pollution.

The plan, which is to be rolled-out over the coming seven months, includes banning the use of “small” coal-fired furnaces for winter heating in the cities of Beijing, Tianjin, Langfang and Baoding.

In the provinces of  Hebei and Henan, cities with dense heavy industries will roll out a seasonal cut to steel output capacity, aiming to slash it by half this winter. Other heavy industries such as aluminum smelters and chemical plants will also scale down production.

All 28 cities will set up air quality monitoring facilities to monitor tailpipe emissions from traffic. The Port of Tianjin will cease to receive coal by road transferring it to receiving it by rail instead.

Most read on Bioenergy International

Get the latest news about Bioenergy

Subscribe for free to our newsletter
Sending request
I accept that Bioenergy International stores and handles my information.
Read more about our integritypolicy here