All subjects
Opinion & commentary

Finland to head Bioenergy Europe

In conjunction with the European Bioenergy Future conference in Hanover, Germany, Bioenergy Europe revealed a reshuffle and expansion of its board of directors for the coming term. Hannes Tuohiniitty, from the Finnish Bioenergy Association (Bioenergia Ry) was elected as its new President – the first time the trade body will be led by Finland. Tuohiniitty is to dedicate his two year term to seeking greater cooperation between sectors that use biomass.

An error occurred

You are logged in as subsbriber at Bioenergy International, but something is wrong.

On your profile you can see what subscriptions you have access to and more information.

Is some of the information wrong – please contact our customer service.

Please reload the page

We could not ascertain if you are logged in or not. Please reload this page.
Bioenergy International premium

Do you want to read the whole article?

Only logged in payed subscribers can read all contents on
As an subscriber you get:
  • Six editions per year
  • Full access to all digital content
  • The E-magazine Bioenergy international
  • And more ...
The Bioenergy Europe Board of Directors (left to right): Marijan Kavran, CROBIOM, Croatia; Jan Habart, CZBIOM, Czech Republic (new); Matthias Held, BBE, Germany (new); Dr Werner Sitzmann, Amandus Kahl; Francesca Ettorre, Turboden (new); Pablo Rodero, AVEBIOM, Spain; Hannes Tuohiniitty, Bioenergia Ry, Finland (President); Ilias Papageorgiadis, ARBIO, Romania; Christoph Pfemeter, ABA, Austria (Vice-President); Vilma Gaubyte, LITBIOMA, Lithuania; Gustav Melin, SVEBIO, Sweden; Vanja Curin, BABH, Bosina and Herzegovina (new); Mark Lebus, LC Energy; Jean-Marc Jossart, Bioenergy Europe (Secretary General), Gordon Murray, WPAC, Canada (new); Eric Vial, proPellets France, Martino Berton representing Annalisa Paniz, AIEL, Italy; Ross McKenzie, Drax Group. Missing Michael Doran, IrBEA, Ireland.

In conjunction with its European Bioenergy Future conference that was held in Hanover, Germany this week as part of the EnergyDecentral trade show, Bioenergy Europe also revealed the election of a new President, Vice-President and new Board members.

Hannes Tuohiniitty, from the Finnish Bioenergy Association (Bioenergia Ry) was elected as the new President of Bioenergy Europe. Christoph Pfemeter, Österreichischen Biomasse-Verbandes (Austrian Biomass Association – ABA) was elected as Vice-President. In addition, the Board of Directors was also expanded to 18 members.

These elections are important news for the sector. We welcome the new President Hannes Tuohiniitty and Vice-President Christoph Pfemeter. Building on long-standing bioenergy expertise and political skills, they are ready to further develop our lobbying activities. Our new Board, growing from 16 to 18 members this year, and including more companies, also marks an increased effort to further understand and involve the market into our decision making, said Jean-Marc Jossart, Secretay-General, Bioenergy Europe.

Tuohiniitty, who marks the first time that a representative from Finland heads Bioenergy Europe, succeeds Didzis Palejs from the Latvian Biomass Association (LATbio) who has led the organisation for the past two years. Tuohiniitty has served in Bioenergy Europe’s Board since 2015.

The role of the Presidency is a good place to take part in the debate on the future of bioenergy in Europe and energy policy more broadly, Tuohiniitty said adding that he will seek expanded cooperation with other sectors related to biomass .

Founded in 1990 as the AEBIOM – European Biomass Association, Bioenergy Europe is a Brussells-based umbrella advocacy organisation whose members constitute national biomass and bioenergy associations in Europe. It is a joint voice and industry developer of European organizations and businesses. The organization has 40 national federations and 100 partner organizations – companies and other stakeholders.

There are four networks under the umbrella of Bioenergy Europe: European Pellet Council (EPC), International, European Industry of Pellets Suppliers (EIPS) and International Biomass Torrefaction Council (IBTC).

Most read on Bioenergy International

Get the latest news about Bioenergy

Subscribe for free to our newsletter
Sending request
I accept that Bioenergy International stores and handles my information.
Read more about our integritypolicy here